No? The Sequel. {.50}

If you’ve been reading for a while, you’ll know that Jayden just started getting on the “No” bandwagon with the rest of the rebellious and curious kids in America. I’m going to be honest; it pisses me off to no other height when this little boy says ‘No’ to me. I just think it is the rudest thing he can say. He’s not explaining anything to me, he’s not trying to do something he is unsure of, he is flat out saying indirectly “LISTEN WOMAN, I’m not going to do what you say because I DON’T FEEL LIKE IT! SUCK ON THAT”. At least that’s how I interpret it in my head.

So, one day I just got fed up. I said to myself, “This is some bull crap. He is not going to just walk around this house thinking that he can say no to everything and do whatever he wants to do.”  I yelled at him. I yelled loud. It was probably uncalled for, but it just built up day, after day, after day until I couldn’t take it anymore. I told him, “YOU DON’T EVER SAY NO TO ME AGAIN! DO YOU UNDERSTAND ME!?” He shook his peanut head “Yes” and that was the last time I heard ‘No’ out of his little mouth.

The story does not end there. Instead of saying ‘No’ to everything now, if I ask him to do something he’ll say “Not yet, Mommy. Not yet.” If that isn’t clever, I don’t know what is. He’s not saying “No”, so I can’t really get mad, but at the same time, he’s still not doing what I’m asking him to do. This is where I don’t know if I should applaud him because this is something that I would of done or be hella pissed because he is indirectly doing the same thing that he was doing before – without actually doing it. Gotta love toddlers.

I am so clever that sometimes I don’t understand a single word of what I am saying.” 
 Oscar Wilde

2 thoughts on “No? The Sequel. {.50}

  1. omg do I love this post… how cute is jayden. and smart! jack has been on the ‘no’ bandwagon too, and it makes me crazy – especially when it’s accompanied by whining. what’s so funny is, just when i’ve had enough of the ‘no,’ you hear this little squeak of a ‘yes’ come out of their mouths, and you just melt. sigh…

    • Thanks Sarah! Oh my goodness. Whining takes it over the edge for me. I get so upset when he does that. That ‘yes’ is certainly something special, lately I’ve only been getting it when I mention brushing teeth. He goes crazy!

Leave a Reply

