That’s Okay {.053}

20120703-232435.jpg

20120703-232426.jpg

“That sounds like thunder Mommy! I’m scared. Cover your ears!”, my little man said as he cuddled next to me and put his head on my chest. It’s the day before the fourth of July and fireworks are going off all around our house. Today is also the day before Jayden leaves on a five day trip to New Jersey to spend time with his Grandparents and Great-Grandma. This is the first time Jayden will be away from Quentin and I for that long. It’s a hard pill to swallow in a lot of ways, but we have to let him go sometime.

I lifted Jayden’s face off of my chest and looked into his eyes – our foreheads touched. He giggled. I asked him if he wanted to sing a song. He said, “Ring around the Rosy!” We began to sing together and just like that he forgot about the “thunder”. We sang and we sang until he started to yawn. As soon as he did – I had a flashback. I remember getting a 3D ultrasound done and seeing Jayden yawn for the first time. It was the moment my whole life changed because I could finally put a face to the little guy I was already madly in love with. That flashback made me realize how much he has grown and the simple fact that he’s going to be just fine for five days. He’s going to have a blast and enjoy some time away from the normal routine. I’m going to miss my baby boy and I’m sure he’s going to miss me – and that’s okay.

“We only part to meet again.”
– John Gay

2 thoughts on “That’s Okay {.053}

  1. Ugh I can’t imagine how grown up he must feel when he has a long sleepover. We have yet to have the little guy sleep over yet although this coming September he’ll be at his grandma’s while my husband and I travel for a wedding. Like you said, we’ll miss each other but that’ll only make the reunion all the more better!

Leave a comment