The Meanest Mommy on Earth {.005}

I’m sure today I sealed the deal on that reputation with my baby boy. Yesterday morning was just not a good one for me. I woke up an hour and fourty-five minutes late {totally my fault. I just love hitting that snooze button} and that just threw my whole morning routine off. I am a perfectionist and if things don’t go the way that I planned them I immediately get irritiated. This really someting I need to work on.
So let’s take a look at how the morning routine is supposed to look like in a perfect world.
4:45AM Wake up {I know I’m crazy for trying to shoot for such a time everyday. Let me be!}
{Get myself together, do homework, finalize a blog post, & pretty much anything I want to do in peace and quiet: very important}
6:00AM Get Jayden’s breakfast together & let it cool{I am a terrible future wife and always manage to mess up my fiance’s breakfast – lessons in progress}.
6:15AM Wake Jayden up & eat breakfast with him.
6:31AM Start helping Jayden brush his teeth & take a bath etc.
{Put clothes is hamper, clean dishes, grab lunches, etc.}
7:25AM Shove the family through the front door.
Jayden’s school opens at 7:30AM and I like to get to work by 7:40.
Do you see how flipping fantastic that is!?
Today I woke up at 6:00AM. This means I had absolutely no time to myself. Irritating especially when I get quite a bit done durring my hours alone. After I got Jayden together I just had to get myself ready in rush mode. Of course he wants to be around me since we didn’t get to sit down together and eat breakfast like we usually do, but I was so irritated I didn’t realize it. When he was standing next to me while I was getting myself together I told him to “go by daddy”. He did. Then, he came back a few minutes later.
“Go by daddy!”, I yelled.
He ran away into the living room. I immediately felt bad.
“What’s wrong with you?”, Quentin asked.
“My whole schedule is off!”, I exclaimed.
Quentin made his way to the living room to check on Jayden.
I followed.
“What’s wrong stinky?”, He asked.
Jayden was laying on the couch with his thumb in his mouth looking out the window at the cars riding by. He had the saddest look on his face.
Quentin was about to console him, but I had to step in. I felt so bad for letting my issues affect him.
I grabbed Jayden and gave him a big hug.
“I’m so sorry,” I said. “Do you forgive Mommy?”
“It’s okay.” He told me in the softest voice.
And like he always does, he jumped up and started telling me about all of the cars and trucks he was watching ride by. Like nothing ever happened.
“Mommy! Wook! It’s a cars and swuck right dea!”
{Translation: Mommy! Look! There are cars and trucks right there!}
Everyone says he has my personality, but I don’t see it. I’m just as outgoing, but the way he gets over things is a quality I wish I had. Just another thing to work on.
 “Every time you get angry, you poison your own system.”
– Alfred A. Montapert
2 thoughts on “The Meanest Mommy on Earth {.005}

    • Thank you for the kind words! You are so right. I somehow make the mistake of taking my frustrations out on the ones that are closest to me. But, kids will turn their moods around so quickly! It really places a mirror on what I need to improve on.

Leave a Reply

