Keep the Love Alive {.006}

 So, I went to grab some lunch from the fridge this morning & Quentin told me that instead he wanted to take me out to lunch. My first thought was “Oh how sweet!” I can’t remember the last time we sat down and had a meal together. I literally can’t. It’s a gift and a curse. With success always comes some sort of sacrifice. Thankfully, we love each other enough to make sure the other knows that they are loved – always

Lunch time roles around and we head off to a shopping center with some restaurants nearby. We can’t decide what to eat right away, but eventually settle for Panera Bread. We are about to walk in and the couple walking out with their baby says, “They have no power.”

I was like “WHAT!?” out loud, even though I meant for that to stay in my head {Yup! I looked crazy}. We continued down the sidewalk to the other food places. Subway – no power. Chipotle – no power. We just could not win! So, we drove out of the area and found a local spot to eat. 

We are looking for a new place to live so Quentin brought his laptop with him so he could show me the places he found. What he showed me was so inspiring and exciting! Places in the city, places in the county, newly remodeled some with old charm. A mix of everything! When he showed me each place all I could think about was: “Is there a park nearby? Is there enough room for a pet? Are there hardwood floors? Is the neighborhood safe enough to walk around?” – all Mommy questions.

It is so incredibly interesting to think about what your pre-baby mind cared about versus the mind of a Mommy. All questions and reactions stem from a place of protection, concern, and the desire to give them everything and more.

It was just then when I realized how blessed I am to have the privilege of raising one of God’s children. Most importantly, God gave me a wonderful partner in life who can share in this journey with me and love to pieces every step of the way.

The hunt will still continue, but it’s nice to get some quality time in with Quentin. With so many exciting things going on it’s easy to let your relationship fall to the waist-side. Initiative is key & making time for each other is one thing we’ve learned to do. Time is not going to just show up out of nowhere with our busy schedules. We’ve got to keep that love alive.

When two people are meant for each other, no time is too long, no distance is too far, and no one can ever tear them apart.

 –Anonymous

Enjoy your Easter weekend. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Keep the Love Alive {.006}

    • Thank you! Yes, you are so right. Now, we think about the days when we would just get up and go without thinking about a babysitter or Emergency contact numbers. But the best part is, we wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Leave a Reply

