Birthday Bash {.008}


Swing baby!

So, my little munchin’s birthday is coming up {April 29TH to be exact} & I am so excited he’s turning three! He is developing so well and we {Quentin & I} are so proud! Since late March we’ve been throwing ideas around about where we want to have his birthday party and who we want to attend, blah, blah, blah. We were thinking about the park {what we did for his first birthday party}, a kids gym {like gymboree}, Quentin’s Mom’s house, a kid’s science center, and no party at all {yea, we got that frustrated with it}. Thinking about the pros and cons of each thing is what lead us to our final decision.
The venues that we were thinking about were too expensive for the alloted time and how many people we’d like to invite {30+}. I want a quick celebration, but 90 minutes is way too quick! To make sure that all of the kids at Jayden’s school can celebrate with him I’m just going to bring treats to school! The party will be for friends and family that don’t live all that close.
Another thing I didn’t really take into consideration the last two birthdays was what Jayden would like to do. It’s so easy to get caught up in what seems cute, what other kids will like and if the party location is a good radius for everyone to attend {blah, blah, blah}. Which all seem like important factors, but none of them should come before Jayden’s preference {it’s his day after all}. So, I sat back and thought about what he likes. He likes cars. He likes to run around. He loves to babble about cars. But, the most important thing that I remembered is that more than anything on this entire earth {yes more than cars}, he loves spending time with his parents. When he can have quality time with us, he is the happiest kid in the world. He always asks to “way down” and get “huggies” when he has us all to himself.
I have made a consious decision to make every single year my son is on this earth filled with experiences.  Gifts are nice, but all of the gifts we got him since he’s been born get played with for a couple of months, then he goes on to something else. Jayden has everything a little almost-three-year-old could want/need and more. He’s a pretty simple kid and can keep himself entertained with a spoon. Everything else is a bonus. The memories associated with the experiences Quentin & I gift him will last a lifetime, and so will the pictures.
The final decision is having a friend/family house party & a science center/lunch day with Jayden, Quenitn and I only. What I would have given to spend an entire day with both of my Parents when I was younger, even now it would be nice {they’re divorced by the way}. There’s nothing like bonding time with thoes that mean the most to you. He’s number one in our lives and we’re number one in his; it’s a perfect date.
I’m such a sappy nerd that I can just picture his glee when he realizes that Mommny and Daddy aren’t on the phone all day, shuffling back and forth, cooking, cleaning and all of that other stuff adults have to do. That day also happens to be the exact date of his birthday. I gotta tell ya. I’m counting the days. I cannot wait. I wish I could tell him and have him understand. He’d pee his pants. What a way to celebrate.
And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count.
It’s the life in your years.
Abraham Lincoln
Leave a Reply

