Me & My Teddy {.010}

The attachment to an inanimate object phase has begun for Jayden. We cannot do a single thing without “Teddy”. Teddy needs to brush his teeth, cuddle, and wash his face whenever Jayden does. It’s adorable to see him attached to something/someone besides Quentin and I. However, in the morning when I’m rushing around to get everything and everyone ready – it’s not so cute. Brushing Teddy’s teeth is not on my agenda at 6:00 in the morning. I try my best to keep my cool most of the time, but when I don’t want Teddy involved and the clock is not on myside I scream, “Teddy doesn’t have TEETH!”

And of course he looks at me with the puppy dog eyes and I give in {I am the softest parent on earth}. I am the softest parent on earth. Other times, I’m glad he’s attached to Teddy. It’s almost teaching him to cherish people more and be more responsible. Since Teddy is involved he wants to do more cuddling and cleaning with Teddy then by himself. I guess having a partner in crime always makes the tasks in life more fun.

Long live Teddy!

 
Children do not give up their innate imagination, curiosity, dreaminess easily.
You have to love them to get them to do that.
R.D. Laing
2 thoughts on “Me & My Teddy {.010}

  1. What often worked with my kids is talking on behalf of their beloved stuffed animals. When I needed them to do something they did not want to do, I would take the stuffed animal as if it was a puppet and talk in a silly squeky voice, “Let’s run to school! I really want to run to school now! My teeth are clean, see?” This works great on kids under 5. My middle kid is especially stubborn, but it even worked on him. Well, not any more, he is 7 now. Now he’d think I am crazy if I did this 🙂

    • That is the brightest idea! ^_^ He’s been pretty good about doing his “chores”, but I will certainly keep this in my backpocket. Especially around bed time.

Leave a Reply

