Perception {.013}

I want to be perfect. I think everyone does. No one likes to make mistakes – especially in front of other people & especially when dealing with parenting. I feel like a failure every time I make one, even if it’s something small. Yesterday was no different… except I made three small mistakes that affected my mood for the rest of the day. Apparently I didn’t fill out the summer camp form for my little one {which I found out later – I did.} I forgot to give Jayden milk for school {that I didn’t know about in the first place} & felt like a mini failure. I don’t like him going without anything…ever. It just bothers me. Oh, and I didn’t do the dishes like I should have {bad prioritizing}. What bothered me wasn’t only that I didn’t do these things despite my human flaw and mistake making, but I know people would and probably did judge me {“People” meaning one of my son’s teachers}. It’s almost like she wants something to be wrong. She never has anything good to say…about anything. I’m sure she thinks I’m terrible parent or whatever. I like to consider myself and active parent/perfectionist. I don’t like for others to be in control of their perception of me. In other words I don’t want to give anyone a reason to think things about me that aren’t true. I just have to face the fact that people will talk about you and think certain things about you {& your child} no matter what you do. I just hate it.

“The most valuable thing you can make is a mistake
– you can’t learn anything from being perfect.”
Adam Osborne
6 thoughts on “Perception {.013}

  1. I understand completely. Sometimes I feel like we, moms, can be our own worst enemy. I try to be satisfied by the fact that our home is filled with love, even though that’s easier said than done.

    • You are absolutely right. I have become my worst enemy. Instead of giving myself a break I say, “Why couldn’t you have done that right!?”
      I try to be satisfied with the aspect of a loving home as well. We’re on the journey together.

      • Wow! I’m speechless. This is exactly what I needed. I am certainly going to print this out because over the last few weeks everyone of those things listed has held me back from enjoying the life I was given.

        It does seem weird how life works. But, just know that you sending me that link will be an important part in me finding the happiness that I should be enjoying trough the hustle and bustle of life. Thank you!

      • You are very welcome. I felt a little bit like a psycho sending it to you, but i completely related to the way you seemed to be feeling and it just seemed like it might be the list we both needed to read.

Leave a Reply

