You can do it all by yourself {.018}

Snap your fingers

Do the step

You can do it all by yourself ♪

That song {Snap Ya Fingers – Lil Jon & The East Side Boyz} comes to mind every time I hear my little munchkin say:

I  WANNA DO IT!

or

ALL BY SELF!

Yes, ladies and gentlemen. He is in that stage of life where, you guessed it;

He wants to do every-got-damn-thing.

Now, looking five years {maybe less} down the line I should be embracing this phase because this means that I don’t have to do anything! I mean, he can get his own breakfast, brush his teeth, put the dishes in the dishwasher, and wipe down all of the tables! He can do all of those wonderful things, but he does them wrong or not as well as they should be done, naturally. He’s only three {can’t believe it}.

Now, do I appreciate the initiative? Absolutely! But, sometimes, like in the wee hours of the morning when I’m trying to get him ready for school it’s a little frustrating. At night when we’re not on a time crunch, I let him do more. I love watching his face light up when I let him help. But, trust and believe as soon as he turns his little back I’m re-wiping the tables or re-arranging the dishwasher. The hardest things to correct are things that he can’t be away for, like re-brushing his teeth.

UGH. It breaks my heart when I have to do it because I can tell his feelings are hurt. He puts on the saddest face and he looks up at me with those big puppy dog eyes as if to say “That wasn’t good enough Mommy?”

::sighs:: Mother-Son dilemmas.

Gotta love ’em.

Too many people grow up. That’s the real trouble with the world, too many people grow up.They forget. They don’t remember what it’s like to be 12 years old. They patronize, they treat children as inferiors. Well I won’t do that.

 – Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

