Sleeping Handsome? {.020}

It’s 5 o’clock in the morning. I fell asleep on the couch while watching the biggest loser again {dang-it} & I hear what sounds like thunder. I open my eyes from sleeping and I see a shadow-like blur fly across the living room.

It startles me at first, and then I realize that my son’s door is wide open.

“It’s Jayden of course,” I concluded. The thunder I thought I heard were his little feet scurrying across the floor.

I get up to see where he was headed {I figured it would most likely be the bathroom — okay I was hoping}.

Turns out he was headed to our room. Why? I wasn’t sure. Bad dream maybe? When I arrived he was already in our bed sleeping next to Quentin.

I later found out that he had opened his arms as if to ask Quentin to lift him up and there he landed in between our sheets. Since I surely did not plan on sleeping on the couch I joined them & it was wonderful. Jayden sandwiched between Quentin & I like a little cozy munchkin. It’s that moment that will be embedded in my brain forever.

I’m still not sure what possessed Jayden to come all the way across the living room down the hall to our room to sleep, but I can’t say I didn’t enjoy it. The weirdest thing about it is the things he normally does, like wakes up at 6:00 & pees on himself while he’s sleeping — didn’t happen. He slept until 6:30 and was completely dry. I was astonished & happy, but also kind of sad because I knew that he wouldn’t be able to sleep with us all the time. He has to get used to sleeping on his own – which I thought he had. But, he’s been waking up in the middle of the night to sleep with us for two nights straight. I hope that his teddy and extra hugs and kisses {& maybe an extra bedtime story} can make it a little more comfy for him to fall asleep & stay asleep.

“May sleep envelop you as a bed sheet floating gently down, tickling your skin and removing every worry.  Reminding you to consider only this moment.”

Jeb Dickerson

Leave a Reply

