Hello Organization! Goodbye Piles of Crap! {.025}

20120503-133452.jpg

 

Quentin and I have been battling the endless piles of paper that have been taking over our dining room and frankly I’m tired of it! If it’s not in the dining room, it’s in the bedroom and it just travels around the house never to find a place safe and sound in our filing cabinet.

I’ll be honest. This is partly {okay, mostly} attributed to the fact that I am not the most organized person on the whole planet. I believe that I could keep a good system up, if there is one to begin with. Creating a good system is always the first step. Paper filing just isn’t working for us when it comes to that. There are so many places one piece of paper could be and the status of those pieces of paper is always changing. For example, if there is a bill that needs to be paid I put in the “To Be Paid” folder. Say I pay it the next day, but Quentin doesn’t know that ‘cause I didn’t get to tell him for whatever reason. He would be looking for that piece of paper in the “To Be Paid” file folder when it would be in the file folder with the company’s name on it {AT&T, etc.}. If the piece of paper isn’t where we think it should be we end up looking through the whole file folder or calling the other one saying “Do you know where XYZ paper is!?” It wastes so much time and sometimes I can’t remember which file folder I put it in. I know where it should be. But, if I’m in a rush it will go in the wrong folder and that welcomes more confusion.

The bottom line is we are getting to dang old to remember where we put every single little piece of paper, especially being parents. You know what I’m talking about Moms and Dads. We have to deal with those random pieces of paper get filed in the weirdest places that don’t really help you find that paper later. I’m talking immunization records, prescriptions, growth charts, artwork, letters from school, receipts for gifts, permission slips, report cards, newsletters, BLAH, BLAH.

Enough about problems. Here comes the problem solvers. I have been using Evernote religiously for about 4 or 5 months now & it has seriously changed my digital life for the better. Basically anything that can be typed or copied and pasted is in Evernote for me to access on my iPhone whenever I needed and emailed to whoever else might need it. If you haven’t checked it out it is a must! Oh & did I mention it’s FREE!? Yea – amazing.

Now here comes the paper life saver – the Doxie Go + Wifi. Like I mentioned earlier. We have a lot of paper that enters our lives. Some pieces of paper that aren’t going to get used but once or twice a year, but we can never find it when those times come. So the Doxie is a scanner that detects all of the text in whatever you scanned so it’s searchable!

So, take the portability and organization of Evernote with the ease of use and digitizing features of the Doxie Go & you have your own homemade digital filing cabinet! This means wherever your phone is {or an internet connected computer for that matter} all of your files are there with you. Great for emergencies or those times where you forget papers at home. The digital age is here people & we are certainly choosing to embrace it. I’ve gotten a lot of negative feedback on the decision to go paperless, but I think it’s what’s best for our busy family. Most people I’ve gotten the feedback from aren’t to tech savvy and too scared to take the plunge themselves. To be successful in anything you have to take some sort of risk. I certainly plan to back all of my files up with CrashPlan to avoid any of those palm-to-forehead moments. But I’m pretty excited to get started.

My goal is for us to be paperless going into 2013! Wish us luck!

It has become appallingly obvious that our technology

has exceeded our humanity.

Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

