I love you {.027}

Goodbye weekend. You went by too fast, yet again. There wasn’t much to you this time, just relaxation, website building and listening to my noisy neighbors move out {yes!}. But, in the same low-key token you have taken on, you have been one of the most monumental weekends of my life. Don’t ask why weekend, I’m getting to that part.

You know that little being that grew inside of me for 8 months and some change? Yes, Jayden. Last night, after we read two books and he snuggled close to his Teddy in bed, he told me something. In fact, he told Quentin and I something pretty amazing {now I’m tearing up about it}.

While curled up in his bed, he looked up at me and said, “Mommy, I love you.” Then, he lifted his head up and said “Daddy, I love you!” It sounds pretty simple right? Wrong.

After Quentin or myself tuck Jayden in for bed, we always tell him that we love him. No matter what. The thing is, since he was born we’ve always said it first. To hear that sweet, innocent, little voice say “I love you” before we even got a chance to mutter it meant everything to me and then some.

I want our son to be loved, I want our son to be loving. Love is hard to teach sometimes because people disappoint you everyday – it’s life. But it’s nice to know that he’s learning how to be selfless and share. Last night he was selfless. He shared his love with us before knowing 100% for sure if he was going to get a response. He gave of himself, put his heart on his sleeve and got so much love in return. That is all life is really about & I pray he continues to do that. The lesson starts with the ones who are the closest to you. It’s weird to think of acts of love as “lessons”. But,  how else are you going to learn to love if no one told you they loved you?

Through the years we’ve taught him how to love & in that one moment he gave me a refresher of what we’ve been showing him. Giving of oneself in any capacity is love.

Love is that condition in which the happiness of

another person is essential to your own.


― Robert A. Heinlein, Stranger in a Strange Land

4 thoughts on “I love you {.027}

  1. This has to be my favorite, most thought provoking post that I have read from you this far.. Comparing love to lessons and the sacrifice of selflessness truly touched my soul. As a parent, that what we anticipate for our children, but the see it put in such a captivating post is amazing!!! Great work!! I look forward to reading more.. This one’s going to be tough to out-do, but your capabilities are endless!!

    • Thank you for the compliments & thanks again for reading! I’m glad you enjoyed this one! It was one of those posts that just came from the heart. The words just flew from my heart to my finger tips. Stay tuned! 🙂

  2. Reading this post this am made me feel so happy – I just experienced this with my son Jack last week, and the moment is emblazoned in my mind… hearing him say “Love you,” totally unprovoked, was the most beautiful thing. It’s carried me on cloud 9 for a week now! I mirror your sentiments… thanks for sharing!

    • Aw! I feel the same way. Nothing can break my stride today. The purest form of love is that from a child. Nothing compares. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

