What’s he gonna be {.029}

The other day Quentin and I were looking at Jayden play. He was playing with cars as usual. He doesn’t get excited about much else.

Quentin said, “I wonder what he’s gonna be when he grows up? A mechanic?”

I’ve thought about the same thing myself. It seems like his main interest is cars. But, has always liked singing & music as well.

I think he’d be fantastic at whatever he chooses to do. He has an infectious personality & isn’t afraid to talk to anyone.

My dad always told me that personality is everything. I certainly believe that because it’s gotten me to where I am now. He works with PhDs on a daily basis who have no personality and eventually they get fired. Not because they aren’t smart. But, because they don’t know the basics about how to interact with another person. For example, interrupting the CEO of their company durring a board meeting to tell him his calculations are wrong. Smart move.

You have to be a people-person to make it in this Country now a days. Credentials are important too. But the two combined are a force to be reckoned with. No one wants a smarty pants that is a nightmare to work with. There usually only a nightmare because they don’t know how to get their point across without offending everyone in the room. At that point their certainly a liability.

I will be uncertain about what Jayden wants to do until the day he tells me “Mommy, I want to be a _______.” That freaks me out because I’m very anal in that way. I want to know everything about everything, even if it’s borderline impossible.

For now, I find peace in knowing that wherever he goes, whatever he chooses to do, he will be successful because he knows how to interact with the people around him. Not because he studies them or has a PhD to say he “knows” all about them, but because he genuinely loves being around them and interacting with them. Knowledge that comes naturally is a gift.

I’ve gotta thank God for that.

We should take care not to make the intellect our god; it has, of course, powerful muscles, but no personality.

 Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

