Press Play {.033}

I haven’t had time to play with my little one in so long. I mean really play. Like, lay on the floor & roll around like goofballs kind of play. I’ve always done something structured with him, which was fun for me cause I’m an adult, but not so much for him. When he came home from daycare he just wanted to play in his own way. He politely asked me to help him turn on the light so he could get his cars and off he went into his toddler dream land, while he was awake. I started to play with him a little, but to be honest I didn’t even realize what I was doing. It was like I was in another world. Just me and him. No homework. No phone. No responsibilities. Then, something clicked and I got up to look something up on the computer. I was planning on coming right back. But, realistically – how many times do I tell myself that & get caught up? Almost, always.

He was disappointed. Usually he won’t pay me any mind and continue playing by himself. But, this time he said “Come here, this is yours”, handing me the car I was playing with. That broke my heart and I immediately rushed over to finish playing with him. I had so much fun. It was just so interesting to dive into his world. Not, a structured game Mommy made up or anything. But, something that he truly enjoys. I honestly thought he would be super territorial over his coveted cars. Surprisingly (to me anyway), he was so incredibly generous, kind and gentle.  That’s a little snapshot of how he plays with his classmates I guess.

I always knew there was something special about this little boy. But, man – God shows me something more spectacular about him everyday. He’s my little angel on Earth.

Family values are a little like family vacations -— subject to changeable weather and remembered more fondly with the passage of time. Though it rained all week at the beach, it’s often the momentary rainbows that we remember.

 –Leslie Dreyfous, New York Times, Oct. 25, 1992

Leave a Reply

