Your Kid is NOT cute {.036}

The other day some man waltzed into a room with his toddler son and said:

“This is my son! Cute, isn’t he?”

(crickets)

That is how the room sounded.

You know how some people would normally say “Yes! Oh my goodness, he’s adorable!?”

Not this time! Everyone in the room was just looking at each other like “Nooo, not really!”

Here is why: You don’t tell me that you think your son is cute. He’s your son! You are supposed to think that or else you go into the “Bad Parent Hall of Shame” for the rest of your life. No one wants that. I, as a non-bias human being make that decision for you.

Problem is, no one really wanted to say that his kid was below average in the looks department. Correction. Everyone wanted to say it, but no one had the balls to say it, including me. I like to avoid hurting peoples feelings as much as I possibly can, you know?

I am shallow enough to know for a fact that my son looked like an alien from the Men In Black movie when he was born. I am also shallow enough to know that he is growing into a handsome young man, but he hasn’t reached his girl-magnet potential yet. With all of that said, I let other people tell me how adorable my son his so I can bask in the glory of saying to myself: “I know, right!?”

Lesson learned here: Don’t come out of the gate making outrageous claims about your kid. You will get let down.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

Jim Henson

2 thoughts on “Your Kid is NOT cute {.036}

    • I can’t either. It’s crazy to me! I’m glad someone agrees with me. I hate to be a negative nancy, but I had to get my feelings out! Haha!

Leave a Reply

