Possessive {.037}

I knew that most kids went through the stage of being “possesive”, but of course {yet again} I didn’t think  that my little angel would catch on to the toddler trend.

I was wrong.

Everything is someone’s, not just his {which I’m happy about, because I’d have to body slam him for being selfish}. This weekend that passed was a pretty chill one, I did a massive amount of laundry, cleaned like I was a maid, and spent some much needed quality time with my boys.

One evening last weekend Quentin and I were laying on the bed and Jayden wanted to hop on and said “get cozy?!”, with the most excited look on his face.

Of course we agreed and we started pulling the blankets on all of us and getting pillows. As I went to grab a pillow closer to me Jayden said “No, Jayden’s pillow”.  Just out of curiosity I pointed to the pillow Quentin’s head was under ask whose pillow it was. “That’s Daddy’s pillow.”, he said.

For lack of better words that was “Get your own damn pillow, Mommy!” in toddler language. I took the hint and got my own pillow.

I assumed the pillow that I put in the bed wasn’t going to be mine according my three-year-old so I thought I’d ask just to see what he’d say.

“That’s Mommy’s pillow!”, he told me. I smiled.

I guess my little one isn’t as possessive as I thought he was. He knows what’s his and he knows what’s not. I can’t ask for much more than that.

While we try to teach our children all about life, our children teach us what life is all about.

Unknown

Leave a Reply

