It’s been a long time {.38}

Image
First let me start off by saying I’ve missed you memory book readers!

I haven’t been blogging since last week and it has been ever so painful.

There has been so much that I’ve wanted to share with you! But, there were some set backs in the homelife that I had to take care of first.

The most important issue being my son’s health. Jayden was sick – very sick. He didn’t have a common cold or anything like that. He had a stomach virus. The scariest part to me during the week that he was sick was that he acted normally, so I couldn’t tell how he was really feeling.

Ever since Jayden was younger he has done a great job of slamming his head on things and just moving along. I was proud of him for being tough, but concerned when I’d see random knots on his head.

This time he acted no different when it came to pain, except I couldn’t see that he was actually hurt like if he psychically bumped his head.

 

He had a fever of 102, vomited twice, had diarrhea like I’ve never seen before and had no appetite for a few days. Mind you I have never seen him throw up before. He has never thrown up in his whole little life, so I cried. It was so sad to see my baby apologizing for something he had no control over. All because it was on his sheets and pillow and floor and crud. I could care less about the mess!
But, through the entire stomach virus ordeal, he was playing, laughing, joking and having a gay old time! That’s my boy! Tough as nails. The only thing he said to me was “Mommy, tummy hurts”. He’d rub his stomach, poop, and keep it moving.

 

We took him to the doctor mid-week and she sucked monkey nuts. That’s the best way I can describe it. She didn’t listen and explained things to Quentin and I like we were three.

 

“Pediatricians don’t care if toddlers don’t eat. Parents do! We are just worried about him being dehydrated!”

 

Yup! Because I’m totally going to force food down my child’s throat if he clearly expresses to me that he doesn’t want to effing eat! Especially since he’s been shitting and throwing his guts up all over the got-damn house! And forget about water or gatorade! Noooo, I’m not going to give him anything to help him replenish his body with the electrolytes and necessary fluids he needs to LIVE!!!!!! Don’t tell me what I care about lady! I know how the hell to handle a dehydrated and stomach-aching child! Just tell me what the hell he can take or if there is anything additional we can do to make this virus go away faster. That is your job! Jayden’s regular doctor wasn’t there unfortunately, but he needed to see someone ASAP, so we went in for an impromptu sick visit. Not doing that again! Total waste of time. So glad she is not his doctor on a regular basis. She is a douche-face.

 

Anyhow…

 

School has been pretty stressful as well, the anxiety of figuring out what I ultimately want to do with my existence and graduation have been plaguing me. I know it will come and it won’t come when I want it. I just have to let it flow. That’s the hardest part. God’s got me though. I know he does.

 

We’ve got quite a bit of catching up to do my friends, but don’t worry you will get all of the deets (short for details – you like?) next week. Lucky for me I will be catching up on the homework I should have done this week all weekend long baby! It’s just been one of those exhausting weeks. I think my body is still making up for staying up 20 hours that day I discovered Jayden was sick. Phew.

 

Right now, I feel like I’ll never catch up on sleep. I want to fall asleep in my MacBook right now. See how this cycle continues?

 

To whom much is given, much is required right?

 

Today is the first of June {totally random, but I can’t believe it}! Holy crap time has flown by. Half of 2012 is gone people, zombies are here, stuff is getting all fudged up, better spend that money you have in your retirement fund while we’re all still here! ::cue dramatic music::

 

If you treat a sick child like an adult and a sick adult like a child,
everything usually works out pretty well

 

– Ruth Carlisle
Leave a Reply

