Too busy? {.040}

Yesterday morning was like any other {except I woke up late – grr}. I woke Jayden up, got his breakfast ready, put him in his chair to eat and started packing his lunch and getting ready for the day. Since I woke up late, Jayden was eating by himself. Sometimes he’ll eat by himself so I can get more done and he never complains or anything {even though I hate that I feel like I don’t have time to sit down with my son for breakfast}.

This morning in particular was a little different for Jayden I suppose. After he took a couple of bites of his oatmeal, he looked up at me with those big brown eyes of his and said, “Mommy, aren’t you hungry?”. He looked at the empty seat next him, then looked back at me.

I said, “Yes, I’m very hungry. But, I have to get us ready to go!”

He just turned around and kept eating. No expression, no acknowledgement, nothing. That’s when I knew he was hurt.

I wanted to cry. But, I didn’t have time to cry {ironic isn’t it}.

My son didn’t ask me for an Xbox, he didn’t ask me to skip school or have candy for breakfast – he simply asked to eat breakfast with me {in his own way}.

I’m ashamed that I have let the hustle and bustle of life deter me from what is really important. Jayden is growing up before my eyes and his memory is starting to develop. I don’t want him to remember eating alone or having to ask for me to eat with him. I want him to remember family dinners and implement them into his house if he chooses to have kids.

I can do it all, I just need to prioritize better. I can certainly do more at night to make sure we have time to eat breakfast together in the morning. It’s just making the decison and the commitment that family is more important than anything.

“What can you do to promote world peace? Go home and love your family.”
– Mother Teresa

2 thoughts on “Too busy? {.040}

  1. Kudos to you for listening to Jayden! I often get into battles with my kiddo when we have to rush out somewhere. Sometimes we can’t help it, but often we could, like you said. We can take the time to prep as much as we could the night before so that they have more time with us in the morning. Or wake up earlier (ugh) to get ready before he’s awake. I know I need to be more mindful of this. Sometimes I figure he’s perfectly fine as I’m rushing around, and he probably is, but I’m sure there are days when he’d rather be hanging out with me than just watching me rush by.

    • I agree with you 100%. Most of the time I feel like he’s totally content with watching me run around like a maniac. But, when I think about it I’d rather spend time with him than rush around. It is certainly is more relaxing. I’m not sure I’m ready to wake up super early though. ::sigh::

Leave a Reply

