Government Name {.041}

About three weeks ago, Jayden had his three-year check up. He’s healthy,  smart and all of that good stuff. Such a blessing. As the apointment was ending his doctor instructed Quentin and I to start teaching him our full names, how to survive in the wild {how to gather food, fight off hungry lions, etc} and all of that good stuff. Seriously though, you know stuff you should know if there is an emergency; addresses, phone numbers and all of that helpful stuff.

We didn’t waste any time and started teaching him what our names were right way. Let’s just say that within one day he had it down pat. I think he was a tad bit confused because he would ask if he got our names right. I mean, can you blame the kid he’s been calling us “Mommy” and “Daddy” since was only 6 months old. I could only imagine what was going on in his head when we told him what our real names were. To him, we are probably impostors.

“Mommy, thatsss Quentin!?”, he would say with a confused look on his face.

“Yes, that’s Quentin, Jayden.”

“Oh. Hi Quentin!”, he would wave as if he was meeting a new person.

Days went by and we would try to refresh his memory and make sure he didn’t forget our “new identities”.

One day I was in the bathroom, doing what people do in the bathroom, and Jayden knocked on the door {He doesn’t like when we go to the bathroom and leave him outside of the door. Go figure. Parent’s don’t deserve privacy.}

“Nicole? NICOLE!? NICOLE WHITEHALL!?!”, he wailed.

“Yes, Jayden.”, I said through my laughter.

“I come in?”

I couldn’t even answer him I was laughing so hard.

I found it so funny that he had already made the connection that “Nicole” was my “new” name. It was almost as if he thought we were telling him to call us something else from now on. I later explained to him that I was two people {this is making even more sense now}. He’s gotten the hang of knowing who Nicole Whitehall is and that she is Mommy too. I’m sure he doesn’t get why I have two names. But, it’s just the cutest thing to hear him say my Government name. What a sophisticated young lad.

The beautiful thing about learning is that no one can take it away from you.
B.B. King

Leave a Reply

