Bath time {.44}

Last night I almost had a nervous breakdown.

I let Jayden play with his bath toys for 8 minutes or so before it was time to get ready for bed. When I said to him “Okay, it’s time to get out!” He said, “I don’t wanna get out.”

Oh my goodness, Lord! I could scream my head off right then there because he is a stubborn as a mule {his sign is a Taurus}. The crazy thing is: right before I put him in the bath he said that he didn’t want to take a bath, so I thought it would be relatively easy to get him out of the bath. WRONG! Wrong, wrong, wrong, wrong, and double wrong.

This is also the same little boy we are talking about who changes his mind 15 thousand times a day and who I still don’t think really understands what “Yes” and “No” mean when those words come out of his mouth. He just says and does whatever and rolls with the consequences.

Voices in my head: Okay, Nicole. You can do this. Lay down the law. He can’t do whatever he wants, whenever he wants and get away with it! Enstill some type of order! Tell him to get out of the tub!

“I know you don’t want to get out, Jayden, but it’s time for you to go to bed.”, I explained.

“Uhhhhhhh.”, Jayden wailed.

I started to let the water drain while he was still playing. He was trying to stop the water from going down with his toy.

At this point I was scared of a melt down. All I could think about was “Man, he really didn’t want to get out of that tub. I better let him stay in for a little while longer”.

I didn’t listen to myself (thank goodness). I thought quickly and I turned water going down the drain into an event.

“Loooook! The water is going down the drain! Bye! Bye! Water!”, I started to wave.

At first Jayden looked at me like I was crazy, then he started to wave as well.

“Buh, bye wata! Buh, bye!”, he smiled as he waived.

PHEW! I did it! If I could, I would give myself a Mommy metal. I usually crack and let Jayden do whatever he wants {those puppy dog eyes are intense}, but if he’s going to be a well rounded responsible adult, I have to lay down the law sometimes. Doesn’t mean we can’t have fun, he just needs to listen to Mommy.

“Half of the troubles of this life can be traced to saying yes too

quickly and not saying no soon enough.”

Josh Billings

3 thoughts on “Bath time {.44}

Leave a Reply

