Sally Gets A Job {.019}

Repetition. One of the many things you have to look forward to when you are a Mother of a toddler. That’s how they learn! They repeat – everything. This I have gotten used to when it comes to repeating questions or phrases {Quentin hasn’t}. I either answer the question as many times as he asks or just listen to whatever catch phrase he’s interested in saying at the time.

Now, when it comes to reading books over and over…and over. I can’t get with it. It is so incredibly frustrating that I find myself rushing through the book he wants to read for the 42ND time.

Last night was no different. He wanted to read the same book that we have read together for the past week and a half – ‘Sally Gets A Job’. I’ll give it to him, when we read it for the first time I enjoyed it! It was a well written book! Now, one week and three days in I’m not so excited about reading it anymore. I even put the rest of the books out on the floor so he could pick something else! Nope! Still wanted to see Sally get the same stupid jobs she did before. At this moment in time Sally has about 37 jobs. She’s going to get fired from one of them!

Might as well prepare myself to take Sally to her job interviews for tomorrow.

A baseball swing is a very finely tuned instrument. It is repetition, and more repetition, then a little more after that.
Reggie Jackson

2 thoughts on “Sally Gets A Job {.019}

  1. Oh man, this made me LOL. Stupid Sally. Well we’re going through that too over here. With books, it’s Go Train Go. I want to shoot myself in the head. And somehow, this kid, at 20-months old, is obsessed with “Gru” from Despicable Me. As inappropriate as that movie might be considered for a 20-month old, Jack LOVES it. And the first time he managed to sit through the entire thing I was fascinated, thinking “oh, he’s so smart! He’s going to skip right over Dora and Barney for sophisticated anime!” Except now he demands Despicable Me every. single. morning. when. he. comes. into. bed. with. us. I’ve seen it no fewer than 35 times!

    • Haha! If that Train was really going it would be to China by now I bet! Aw, your son has sophisticated taste for a 20-month-old. I will keep you in my thoughts as you go through this difficult time. 😛 It’s so funny how particular they are when it comes to entertainment.

      My only question now is: When will it end!? When will we get to experience variety in life ever again!?

Leave a comment